The Hastings Raiders wrestling team sent six entrants to the Class AAA individual state tournament held at the Xcel Energy Center Friday and Saturday, March 1-2. Seniors Luke Chamberlain, Godswill Pepple, Alex O'Connor, Mac Wilson, Lynden Wilson and Matt Myers all competed on day one, with Pepple the lone wrestler to advance to day two.

Winning matches at state were Mac Wilson, Pepple and Chamberlain, though no Raider placed.

Pepple went 2-2 at 195 pounds over the course of two days. On day one he beat Evan Hull of Maple Grove in sudden victory in the first round before falling in the quarterfinals to Lincoln Shinn of Willmar by fall in 1 minute, 45 seconds. Later that night Pepple beat Josh Heyda of Faribault in the first consolation round by a 3-1 decision. Saturday morning, he lost to Rowan Morgan of Mounds View by fall in 3:17 in the second consolation round.

Myers went 0-2 at 120, losing to Nic Cantu of Albert Lea by fall in 47 seconds in the first round and then to Nick Novak of New Prague by a 13-1 major decision in the consolation.

Lynden Wilson was 0-2 at 126 with losses to Tyler Jones of Shakopee by an 11-0 major decision and to Isaiah Misna of St. Michael-Albertville in the consolation by a 2-0 decision.

Mac Wilson won his first-round match at 152 over Hayden LeMonds of St. Michael-Albertville by fall in 5:36. He then lost to Moise Madimba of Coon Rapids by a 12-6 decision in the quarterfinals and Xander Falkenstein of Eden Prairie by a 7-6 decision in the first consolation round.

O'Connor lost to Riley Schock of Moorhead by fall in 4:55 in the first round at 170 and did not receive the opportunity for a wrestleback.

Chamberlain went 1-2 at 285 pounds. He won his first-round match over Ryan Fitz of Mound-Westonka by fall in 2:38 but then lost in the quarterfinals to Luke Parzyck of White Bear Lake by a 5-0 decision. In the first consolation round, he lost to Wyatt Kruse of Cambridge-Isanti by fall in 33 seconds.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to darkin@orourkemediagroup.com.

Share your opinion


Join the conversation

Recommended for you