The Wildcat wrestling team won its first Big Rivers Conference championship since 2006, its first regional title since 2001, and had its first individual state champion since 2006. And that success has been reflected with 12 Wildcats named to 2018-19 All-Big Rivers Conference teams.

Senior Nathan Fuller, who became the 19th state champion in River Falls history by winning the 152-pound state title, headlines the group by being named the BRC Wrestler of the Year. Fuller went 38-1 on his way to a state championship and was joined on the All-BRC First Team by Garnett Ripley, who won a regional title at 220 pounds while going 21-7.

Second team honors went to Josie Bartishofski, James Hampton, Bennett Cernohous, Miles Longsdorf and Garrett Borth while Owen Larson, Elliott Hampton, Tyler Haydon, Marcus Cudd and Tyler Kliszcz earned honorable mention.

Bartishofski became the first female wrestler to win a Division 1 regional title while going 18-16 this season while James Hampton (23-14), Larson (25-14), Cernohous (20-10), Longsdorf (31-12) and Haydon (23-17) were regional runners-up. Kliszcz (22-14) placed third at regionals while Borth (25-13) and Cudd (22-15) were sectional qualifiers with fourth place regional finishes.

The Wildcats won their first BRC title since 2006 with a perfect 5-0 record against conference foes this season before claiming the regional title by 14 points over Hudson to qualify for their first team sectional since 2001.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to darkin@orourkemediagroup.com.

Share your opinion


Join the conversation

Recommended for you